Our Rector:
The Reverend Shelby Ochs Owen

Our rector, the Reverend Shelby Ochs Owen, began her duties as priest-in-charge on February 3, 2013. As of July 1, 2015, she officially became the rector of our congregation. She previously served as Associate Rector of Trinity Episcopal Church, our near-neighbors in Staunton. Shelby holds a Master in Divinity degree from the Virginia Theological Seminary, in Alexandria. Prior to her work at Trinity, she had served as Associate Rector of St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Ivy, Virginia, and St. Anne's Episcopal Church in Reston, Virginia. She and her husband Steve Owen have three adult children, and reside in Staunton.

E-MAIL ADDRESS: priest-emmanuelstaunton@verizon.net

Organist/Choir Director:
Sarah Grove-Humphries

Our organist, Sarah, is a busy musician! In addition to serving Emmanuel on Sundays, she also serves as cantor at the Temple House of Israel, where she is a member. During the week, she teaches a variety of Musikgarten classes in Staunton and Waynesboro for children from infancy to age 9. For more information, see Sarah's Music Studio.

Secretary and Bookkeeper:
Mrs. Lucy W. Dennison


Members of the Vestry:

Senior Warden: Beverley Coffman (2018-2020)

Junior Warden: Jim Echols (2017-2019)

Co-treasurers: # Leonard Pittman, George Sproul

Clerk: Nicole Rutan (2019-2021)

Samuel Dawson, III (2017-2019)

Meneta Deaton (2017-2019)

Wendy Brown (2018-2021)

Daniel Lynn (2018-2020)

Tom DuMontier (2019-2021)

Steve Berneking (2019-2020)

NOTE: At the parish's annual meeting on December 9, 2018, three members of Emmanuel were elected to serve three-year terms on the vestry: Wendy Brown (who was already serving the final year of another member who had resigned), Tom DuMontier, and Nicole Rutan. In early January, Steve Berneking was elected to serve for the remaining two years of Daniel Nessar's term.

The years refer to each member's term on the vestry.

# The Co-Treasurers (or the Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer) participate in vestry meetings, but are not voting members.

Emmanuel Vestry 2019

The members of the Vestry, Emmanuel Episcopal Church, for 2019.
BACK ROW (from left to right): Jim Echols, Steve Berneking, Sam Dawson, Nicole Rutan, Tom DuMontier.
FRONT ROW: Daniel Lynn, Rev. Shelby Owen, Meneta Deaton, Beverley Coffman, Wendy Brown.

Last updated: